Often when I swim at Little Bay, early or late in the season and towards evening, I am alone in the water, and there are few people on the beach.

Swimming across the bay with no one to distract me, even on a calm day I notice the constant muffled roar of the swell breaking on the rocky shoreline of the outer bay and on the reef at the mouth of the inner bay.

I decided to try to capture this beautiful, soothing sound – and some of the other sounds of the bay.

I was also influenced by some thoughts expressed by Kev Carmody when interviewed by Richard Fidler on ABC Radio:

Kev: And he [Kev’s aboriginal grandfather] would say things to us:

Boy always listen to the wind. Sound is music.

Richard: It sounds like you get this from your your grandad … who taught you to really listen, really sit down and listen to the land.

Kev: Yep … and when I do stuff in prisons … that’s the thing I say to ’em. And they write it on the prison wall:

Always listen to the wind.

So I bought a sound recorder. Here are some of my first efforts:

Gentle waves lapping on the main beach at sunset; distant roar of surf from the mouth of the bay.

Recorded on the beach at waters edge, 5:19 PM (sunset) on Tuesday 8 August 2014. Length 1:14:

 

Distant roar of surf from the mouth of the bay; some bird sounds (faint); gentle waves lapping on the main beach.

Recorded from the first landing of the wooden steps at 5:27 PM (sunset) on Sunday 27 July 2014. Length 0:52:

 

Gentle waves lapping on rock platform; some distant roar of surf from the mouth of the bay; bird sounds (faint) near end.

Recorded from rock platform north of the main beach, at 5:08 PM (sunset) on Sunday 27 July 2014. Length 1:21:

